Loading Events
Online talk by Dr. Paola Olaya Arenas, a postdoctoral fellow at Institute Alexander von Humboldt, hosted by the Xerces Society!
September 23
10:00 AM – 11:00 AM PDT / 11:00 AM – 12:00 PM MDT / 12:00 PM – 1:00 PM CDT / 1:00 PM – 2:00 PM EDT
Webinar Description:

Join Paola Olaya Arenas, a postdoctoral fellow at Institute Alexander von Humboldt, as she talks about her research on insect pests and natural enemies in Bogotá. Her work has parallels for encouraging beneficial insects in parks and gardens everywhere.

Paola was one of our DeWind Award recipients in 2016. She studied the pesticides risk exposure of monarch butterflies inhabiting agricultural land in Indiana. From her study Paola published three papers showing how milkweeds and monarchs are exposed to pesticides applied to corn and soybean and what are the consequences from this exposure for monarch adult’s oviposition and larvae feeding and development.

More info and registration here: https://xerces.org/events/oregon/biological-control-in-urban-parks-study-in-bogota-colombia

Share This Story, Choose Your Platform!